Zoo Weekend and a Birthday!

Life has been a little mundane lately, so obviously I haven’t had many posts. But this weekend was my friend Lauren’s birthday!! After work on Friday a big group of us decided to go out for happy hour to celebrate, which turned into drinks and dinner. There were 16 or 17 of us in total I think, and it was a LOT of fun, but ended the way all large parties like that do in restaurants- a slight catastrophe when the bill came. Eventually the bill was paid, but a few people felts slighted and some people spent much more than they should on their birthday. Ahem. A smaller group of us went to another bar afterward and had a good time, then around midnight we all felt old and drunk and decided to go home (I was sober!).

The next day, in an attempt to rectify the low points of Friday night, my friend Dominique and I decided to invade Lauren’s apartment and go to the DC Zoo!! We brought her a small picnic of meat, cheese, bread, cupcakes, and wine- essentially, all the best things in life. Image

ImageImage

After practically gorging ourselves, we finally left for the zoo. Dom is REALLY good at clicking her heals. I’m also really bad at capturing it on camera.Image

ImageIt’s a funny thing about the DC Zoo, in the winter they let the animals live inside and close the exhibit buildings at 4:30. So naturally we got there around 4:30. Even if we didn’t get to see the exhibits, it’s still a beautiful park and there were some animals to be seen… We had a goal of 4. Our first success was spotting a single sleeping red panda!ImageImage

They also had two horses! But I only got my picture with one.Image

We saw the saddest sea lion in the entire world… It was just laying on land moaning…

ImageImage

Then we saw some friendly wolves who I would like to take home:Image

This one was pacing back and forth a little too quickly for my camera- we call him Albus DumbledoreImage

Then we saw ducks in the beaver cage, we also saw a bald eagle, but it was too hard to get a picture of.Image

Afterward Lauren went to meet some friends for dinner and Dominique and I got Thai food which I’ve never had before! I really enjoyed it 🙂 Afterward we went to CVS to kill some time and spent a long time looking at make up and deliberating the best way to spend the least amount of money on buying whitening strips. In the end they didn’t have the deal we wanted… So we didn’t get anything.Image

I then took an extremely long metro ride home, but it was so worth it!Image

Leave a Reply

