Aside

Favorites!

1. I’m currently located at the top of the mountains in the Shennendoah Valley at Wintergreen Resort and it’s easily one of my new favorite places. We have family friends with a home here who graciously invited us up for the long weekend, and it’s been a wonderful relaxing time. Not to mention we’re getting piled on with snow right now which is gorgeous!

2. It was our task to bring desserts for this trip and I decided it was time to try out a recipe to make my own Sheila’s Dream Bars. These are one of my favorite treats and every time I go to Potbelly’s I have to get one. I made an attempt at this a week ago and I can’t find the recipe I used the first time, so I made this recipe. As an adjustment, the first recipe called for a layer of caramel before putting the oats on, I just used ice cream sauce. Then I did 1.5 of everything to make the bars fit a 13×9 pan. They need to bake a little longer this way…. But they’re still tasty!

3. I have been all about Rufus Wainwright lately and the entire album “Poses” is all I want to listen to.

4. This may be a bit polarizing, but Mark and Grace Driscoll’s book Real Marriage is really good. I bought it on a whim after breezing through the faith and Christianity section in Barnes and Noble and I’m about 100 pages in. I am obviously not married and VERY single, but this book has a lot of wisdom, even if you are not religious.Image

Leave a Reply

