A Separate Resolution

Something I decided not to include in my 2014 resolutions is my wish to travel. I realize I included “going a new place” every month, but this can be pretty small scale like eating at a new restaurant. I have been incredibly blessed in my life by being given the opportunity to travel to many new places. Although, the majority of my travels have been in the US, I’ve had a short list of international retreats all of which I thoroughly enjoyed.

MalagaSpain

ScotlandScotland

LondonLondon (please forgive this outfit)

France

Paris

DisneyDisneyland Paris (deserves its own mention plus imagine that lady next to me isn’t there)

PeruPeru!

As you can see, most of these trips were the product of convenience when I was studying abroad in Spain and last year I was fortunate enough to have a friend already stationed in Peru who wanted to travel with me. I fear the luck and convenience may be running out and I may start making excuses, and that is a relevant fear, my friends! In my dreams I will take an international trip every year as well as making some tracks across the US. I have become a seasoned traveler and have spent more time in airports alone than with others. I can read maps, navigate a metro railway, and take a cab with the best of them. While I don’t love researching things to do at my destination because it peaks my anxiety, I love experiencing new cultures and places(even if it’s only looking back on them fondly).

I’m on financial lockdown for the duration of my unemployment so even if I had a destination and a buddy picked out, I still could not travel right now. This, I fear, will be the beginning of the great list of excuses. So instead of just looking for jobs right now I’m planning on researching destinations, attractions, and things I want to do to help make them a reality. Hopefully this will also motivate me to push forward and find a job as soon as possible in an effort to start fundraising for my future endeavors. I know that if I say I’m going to keep a list of my findings here then it will never come to fruition because that is how my resolve has been for this blog. But I’m not going to say it won’t happen because I’m trying to strengthen my will to get shit done!

One thought on “A Separate Resolution

Leave a Reply

